Back to Stories & News

Updated January 9, 2024 — Any Foundation-funded study that involves animals, whether owned by clients or cared for by a study team, is evaluated thoroughly by our Animal Welfare Advisory Board to ensure the study meets the Foundation’s strict standards for health and well-being. The majority of our studies that include animals are pets in clinical trials in which new treatments, new diagnostic tools or surgical advances are being evaluated. Pets are enrolled in clinical trials by their owners with counsel and advice from their veterinarian and the clinical trials research team.

Active Board Members:
Chair: Randall Lockwood, PhD, American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA)
Courtney Hunter, DVM, PhD, University of Michigan
Oliver Knesl, BSc, BSc (Hons), MSc, BVSc, MRCVS, Zoetis, Inc.
Jennifer LS Lofgren, MS, DVM, DACLAM, Novartis Institutes of Biomedical Research
Lynn Miller, CWR, PhD, New Zealand Bird Rescue
Victoria K. Baxter, DVM, PhD, DACLAM, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Daniel S. Mills, BVSc, PhD CBiol, FRSB, FHEA, CCAB, Dip ECAWBM (BM), FRCVS, University of Lincoln
Julia (Julie) Albright, MA, DVM, DACVB, University of Tennessee
David S. Miller, DVM, PhD, DACZM, DACAW, MVS Consulting
Kat Littlewood, BVSc (Dist), PGDipVCSc (Dist), AFHEA, MANZCVS (Animal Welfare), Massey University
Benjamin Brainard, VMD, Dipl ACVAA, ACVECC, University of Georgia
Julia Wrathall, BSc, MSc, PhD, ChMIACE JW, Premier Animal Welfare Consulting
Jonathan Balcombe, PhD, MSc, BSc, The Editorial Department
Lana Kaiser, MD, Diplomate ABIM, DVM, Michigan State University
Linda Greening MSc, PGCHE, SFHEA, Hartpury University
Alexandra Whittaker, MBA, PhD, University of Adelaide
Elena Contreras, DVM, MS, PhD, Long Island University
Ernest E. Ward, Jr., DVM, CVFT, E3 Management, Affordable Pet Labs, VerticalVet
Melissa Upjohn, BVetMed MSc PhD MRCVS, Dogs Trust
Lance Miller, PhD, Brookfield Zoo