Printer Friendly

Morris Animal Foundation Teams with American Association of Zoo Veterinarians to Honor Postgraduate Researchers

The American Association of Zoo Veterinarians (AAZV) invited veterinarians in a postgraduate training program to compete to give the best presentation at the 2010 AAZV Annual Conference on October 23-29 in South Padre Island, Texas. The goal of the competition was to foster scholarly effort in developing clinicians and researchers in zoo and wildlife medicine and the related sciences. The competition was open to graduate veterinarians currently enrolled in, or who have recently completed, postgraduate training in a zoo or university internship, residency or PhD training program. Morris Animal Foundation sponsored the event and gave $900 to the first place winner and $600 to the second place winner. Winners were judged on their abstract and oral presentation and. Below are the winners.


First Place: Dr. Shannon Shaw, Veterinary Resident, Oklahoma City Zoo Zoological Medicine Residency Program, "Comparison of Laryngeal Mask Airway Use with Endotracheal Intubation During Anesthesia of Western Lowland Gorillas”


Second Place: Dr. Marc Valitutto, Veterinary Resident, Wildlife Conservation Society/Cornell  University Zoological Medicine Residency Program, “Pharmacokinetics of a Long-acting Formulation of Ceftiofur (ceftiofur crystalline free acid) Administered Intramuscularly in the Ringneck Dove (Streptopelia risoria)”

Posted by MAFon November 2, 2010.

Categories: Animal health, Veterinary news, Wildlife health


Bookmark and Share

Post a Comment:

(max length 600 characters)
Enter this word: